Meets every Thursday at 7.25 for 7.30
at Mountnessing Village Hall, Roman Road, Mountnessing, Essex, England, CM15 0UG

THE LAWS OF DUPLICATE BRIDGE 2007 – Summary of the changes (For Players)

This is a copy of a document originally published by the EBU in August 2008


Summary of change


You should shuffle your cards after the hand before returning them to the board.


You are still required to agree a hesitation, for example, when it happens and the TD should be summoned if there is any disagreement. The new laws state that the best time to claim actual damage is at the end of the hand (e.g. rather than on sight of dummy).


You are now allowed to ask about the meaning of an individual call in the opponents’ auction. But it shouldn’t be done in such a way as to suggest a call or play to partner such as "does that 2H bid show hearts?" – perhaps indicating that the questioner holds hearts.


Sometimes players ask questions because they do not think their partner has understood. It is illegal to do so.



There is a short period between the final pass and the first card being faced, when questions are asked. This is now called the Clarification Period. Members of the declaring side may consult their own system cards during this time to make sure nothing has been misexplained, for example.


When you put the dummy down you must display it with the lowest ranking cards nearer declarer.


Dummy cannot ask a defender whether he has revoked (In 1997 it was in 42B1 and still is but is repeated here). However he can still ask declarer.


Defenders are allowed to ask one another whether they have revoked. This returns to a situation outlawed in 1987. So when one defender asks the other 'having no spades, partner?' there are two possible answers.

No, I don't or Yes, I do.

If the answer is 'no', then play carries on.

If the answer is 'yes' the TD will need to be summoned. The TD will rule that the card played in error becomes a major penalty card and left face up on the table; the offender substitutes a legal card in place of the revoke card. Cards played after the attempt to revoke may be changed. The major penalty card is then subject to the usual rule.


Players are now allowed to point out that a quitted trick card is pointing the wrong way. Declarer can do it at any time; dummy or defenders can do it only until the lead is made to the following trick.


It’s now official - the chief object while playing is to obtain a higher score than other contestants!

Page 1 of 1 10/06/11 guidance_2007_Law_changes